About Council

Edward River Council provides services and support to a community of approximately 9,000 permanent residents across a region covering 8,881 square kilometres, including the town of Deniliquin and the six rural villages of Blighty, Booroorban, Conargo, Mayrung, Pretty Pine and Wanganella.

Edward River Council was proclaimed on 12 May 2016, following the amalgamation of the former Conargo Shire Council and Deniliquin Council into one strong, cohesive and dynamic organisation.

This announcement, made by then Premier Mike Baird, was another step in the local government reform process. This was an extensive process, designed to strengthen the local government sector in order to meet the needs of NSW communities into the future.

A total of 19 new councils have been created to date, and it is expected that these new councils will be more sustainable, with better infrastructure and improved service delivery.

Ashley Hall was appointed Administrator by the Minister for Local Government to oversee the implementation of the new Edward River Council. The implementation phase will be completed in September 2017, when the inaugural election for the new Council will take place.

Council is working closely with the community to implement the amalgamation, as we mould two strong teams into one effective, efficient organisation.

For more information about Edward River Council, including new Council boundaries, the official proclamation can be viewed online.

For more information on the amalgamation, visit the NSW Government's Stronger Councils Stronger Communities website