

I hereby give notice that an Ordinary Meeting of Council will be held on:

Date: Friday, 05 May 2023

Time: 10:00 AM

Location: Council Chambers, Wanderer Street Deniliquin

MINUTES

Extraordinary Council Meeting

Friday, 05 May 2023

Philip Stone
Chief Executive Officer

Order of Business

1. OPENING MEETING	3
2. LIVE STREAMING STATEMENT	3
3. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY	3
4. STATEMENT OF PURPOSE	3
5. APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR A LEAVE OF ABSENCE BY COUNCILLOR	S 3
6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES	3
7. DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS	3
8. MAYORAL MINUTE(S)	3
9. REPORTS OF COMMITTEES	3
10. REPORTS TO COUNCIL	3
10.1. Submission regarding DA2023/0024 - 4.95MW Solar Farm	4
10.2. Letter to NSW State Government on proposed removal of ESL Subsidy	4
11. NOTICES OF MOTIONS	4
12. QUESTIONS WITH NOTICE	4
13. CONFIDENTIAL MATTERS	4
14. CLOSE OF MEETING	4

1. OPENING MEETING

Present: Mayor Cr Peta Betts, Deputy Mayor Cr Paul Fellows, Cr Linda Fawns, Cr Shannon Sampson, Cr Shirlee Burge, Chief Executive Officer, Director Infrastructure

Via Teams: Cr Tarria Moore, Cr Pat Fogarty, Director Corporate Services, Acting Chief Financial Officer, Cr Harold Clapham (from 10.07am)

In Attendance: Executive Assistant

Gallery: Two

2. LIVE STREAMING STATEMENT

3. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

4. STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

I have come here as a Councillor freely and without bias to:

- Represent the views of the community in considering the matters before us today
- To vote in a matter I consider to be in the best interest of the community
- To observe the Code of Conduct and respect the rule of the chair and views of my fellow Councillors.

5. APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR A LEAVE OF ABSENCE BY COUNCILLORS RESOLUTION 2023/0505/5

Moved: Cr Linda Fawns

Seconded: Cr Tarria Moore

That Council notes the absence without notice of Cr Harold Clapham and Cr Marc Petersen and that Cr Fogarty and Cr Moore are in attendance via video link.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Nil

7. DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS

Nil

8. MAYORAL MINUTE(S)

Nil

9. REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

Nil

Cr Harold Clapham joined via teams at 10.07am

10. REPORTS TO COUNCIL

10.1. SUBMISSION REGARDING DA2023/0024 - 4.95MW SOLAR FARM RESOLUTION 2023/0505/10.1

Moved: Cr Paul Fellows

Seconded: Cr Linda Fawns

That Council makes a submission regarding DA2023/0024, being the proposed development of a solar farm along Hogans Lane, noting its concerns based on the unsuitability of the site, lack of consultation, lack of community benefit and impact on Council infrastructure.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

10.2. LETTER TO NSW STATE GOVERNMENT ON PROPOSED REMOVAL OF ESL SUBSIDY

RESOLUTION 2023/0505/10.2

Moved: Cr Shirlee Burge

Seconded: Cr Shannon Sampson

That Council write to the Minister for Local Government, the Hon. Ron Hoenig, MP, the Minister for Emergency Services, The Hon. Jihad Dib, MP, and carbon copy Mrs Helen Dalton, MP, Member for Murray, expressing its dissatisfaction with the proposed removal of the Emergency Services Levy (ESL) subsidy, using the preferred template issued by Local Government NSW (LGNSW) to all NSW Councils for this purpose.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11. NOTICES OF MOTIONS

Nil

12. QUESTIONS WITH NOTICE

Nil

13. CONFIDENTIAL MATTERS

Nil

14. CLOSE OF MEETING

Mayor Cr Peta Betts declared the meeting closed at 10.25am.