

### I hereby give notice that an Ordinary Meeting of Council will be held on:

Date:	Wednesday, 13 December 2023
Time:	8:30 AM
Location:	Council Chambers, Wanderer Street Deniliquin

# **MINUTES**

## **Extraordinary Council Meeting**

## Wednesday, 13 December 2023

Philip Stone General Manager

### **Order of Business**

1. OPENING MEETING	3
2. LIVE STREAMING STATEMENT	3
3. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY	3
4. STATEMENT OF PURPOSE	3
5. APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR A LEAVE OF ABSENCE BY COUNCILLORS	3
6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES	4
7. DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS	4
8. MAYORAL MINUTE(S)	4
9. REPORTS TO COUNCIL	4
9.1. Election of Deputy Mayor	4
9.2. Request to Minister for Local Government: casual vacancy	4
10. NOTICES OF MOTIONS	5
11. QUESTIONS WITH NOTICE	5
12. CONFIDENTIAL MATTERS	5
13. CLOSE OF MEETING	5

#### 1. OPENING MEETING

- Present: Mayor Cr Peta Betts, Cr Linda Fawns, Cr Shirlee Burge, Cr Tarria Moore, Cr Marc Petersen, Cr Pat Fogarty
- Via Teams: Cr Harold Clapham, Cr Shannon Sampson
- In Attendance: Executive Assistant
- Gallery: 2 via video link

Meeting opened at 8.34am

#### 2. LIVE STREAMING STATEMENT

Edward River Council wishes to advise members of the public that Council Meetings will be recorded and will be available after each meeting on Council's website <u>Councils Website</u> All care will be taken to maintain the privacy of those in attendance, however As a visitor in the public gallery, your presence may be recorded. By remaining In the public gallery, it is assumed your consent is given in the event your image is broadcast. This includes any filming by television cameras if attendance is approved by the Chief Executive Officer or Mayor.

#### 3. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Edward River Council acknowledges and embraces the Traditional Owners of the Lands within the Edward River Council area - the Wamba Wamba/Perrepa Perrepa Peoples – and pay our respects to their elders, past, present, and emerging. The Edward River Council also recognises the diversity of different cultures within our community and their contribution.

#### 4. STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

I have come here as a Councillor freely and without bias to:

- Represent the views of the community in considering the matters before us today
- To vote in a matter I consider to be in the best interest of the community
- To observe the Code of Conduct and respect the rule of the chair and views of my fellow Councillors.

#### 5. APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR A LEAVE OF ABSENCE BY COUNCILLORS

Moved: Cr Linda Fawns

Seconded: Cr Marc Petersen

#### **RESOLUTION 2023/1312/5**

That Council acknowledges and accepts the attendance of Cr Harold Clapham and Cr Shannon Sampson via Teams.

#### CARRIED

#### 6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Nil

#### 7. DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS

Nil

8. MAYORAL MINUTE(S)

Nil

#### 9. REPORTS TO COUNCIL

#### 9.1. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Moved: Cr Pat Fogarty

Seconded: Cr Shirlee Burge

#### **RESOLUTION 2023/1312/9.1**

That Council, in accordance with the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021:

- 1. Note that the Mayor will assume the role of Returning Officer for the election
- 2. Determine that the method of voting for the election of Deputy Mayor be determined by open voting by a show of hands.
- 3. Elect a Deputy Mayor for the remainder of the Council Term

Nominations received by:

Cr Linda Fawns - Nominated by Cr Peta Betts and Cr Tarria Moore

Cr Marc Petersen - Nominated by Cr Shirlee Burge and Cr Pat Fogarty

As the vote was equal, the names were placed in a container and a name drawn. Cr Marc Petersen was elected Deputy Mayor.

#### CARRIED

#### 9.2. REQUEST TO MINISTER FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT: CASUAL VACANCY

Moved: Cr Marc Petersen

Seconded: Cr Pat Fogarty

#### **RESOLUTION 2023/1312/9.2**

That Council resolves to write to the Minister for Local Government seeking approval to dispense with a by-election to fill a casual vacancy on Council.

#### CARRIED

#### **10. NOTICES OF MOTIONS**

Nil

#### **11. QUESTIONS WITH NOTICE**

Nil

#### **12. CONFIDENTIAL MATTERS**

Nil

#### **13. CLOSE OF MEETING**

The meeting closed at 8.46am.