Edward River Council is governed by nine elected Councillors. 

Councillors are elected to represent the entire Edward River Council local government area, rather than individual wards or divisions.

Role of Councillors

Councillors have an important role in providing community leadership, vision and strategic direction and making policy decision on behalf of - and for the benefit of - the local community. As democratically elected representatives, Councillors are also advocates for the community. Their role is to:

  • Be an active and contributing member of Edward River Council, the governing body of the Edward River Council local government area;
  • Make considered and well-informed decisions as a member of Council;
  • Participate in the development of Council's Integrated Planning and Reporting Framework, including the Community Strategic Plan, Delivery Program and Operational Plan;
  • Represent collective interests of residents, ratepayers and the local community;
  • Facilitate communication between Council and the local community; and
  • Uphold and represent the policies and decisions of Council.


Your Councillors

Councillor Disclosures

Under section 449 of the Local Government 1993 (NSW), all Councillors are required to complete and lodge with the General Manager, within three months of their election, a return disclosing his or her pecuniary interests, including information about property or share holdings, gifts received, debts owed, other sources of income, and positions held in a trade union or business or professional organisation.

For the purposes of the Act, a pecuniary interest is an interest involving a reasonable likelihood or expectation of appreciable financial gain or loss to a person. A person does not have a pecuniary interest in a matter if the interest is so remote or insignificant that it could not reasonably be regarded as likely to influence any decision the person might make in relation to the matter, or if the interest is of a kind not required to be disclosed under section 448 of the Act.

These returns are publicly available for inspection at Council’s Customer Service Centre at 180 Cressy Street, Deniliquin during ordinary business hours.

Further information about the disclosure and management of Councillors' pecuniary interests is available from the Office of Local Government website.

Councillor Expenditure Reports

Council adopted its Councillor Expenses and Facilities Policy on 14 December 2017.

The policy outlines the expenses which will be met for, and the facilities which will be provided to, the Mayor and Councillors in exercising their civic duties.

Council resolved to publish Councillor Expenditure Reports every six months.


Pecuniary Interest Returns of Councillors and Designated Officers

Pecuniary Interest Returns of Councillors and designated staff for the return period 1 July 2020 till 30 June 2021 were tabled at the Ordinary meeting of Council held on 21 October 2021. 

Council publishes the annual pecuniary interest returns of the following designated persons pursuant to the Government Information (Public Access) Regulations 2009:  Schedule 1 - Additional open access information – local authorities.   

In accordance with the Information and Privacy Commissions Guideline 1, Council has conducted the public interest test in relation each return and redacted any information where there is an overriding public interest against disclosure, for example a residential address or signature.


Peta Betts disclosure(PDF, 47KB)

Tarria Moore disclosure(PDF, 190KB)

Marc Petersen disclosure(PDF, 192KB)

Shirlee Burge disclosure(PDF, 154KB)

Harold Clapham disclosure(PDF, 125KB)

Peter Connell disclosure(PDF, 94KB)

Linda Fawns disclosure(PDF, 129KB)

Paul Fellows disclosure(PDF, 389KB)

Pat Fogarty disclosure(PDF, 673KB)


Staff disclosure

Phil-Stone-Pecuniary-Interest-Return-2021.pdf(PDF, 525KB)

Mark-Dalzell-Disclosure-of-Pecuniary-Interests-2021.pdf(PDF, 284KB)