Riverina and Murray Joint Organisation

The Riverina and Murray Joint Organisation (RAMJO) was proclaimed by the NSW Government as a body corporate under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1993 on 15 May 2018.

The RAMJO region covers an area of 72,724 square kilometres and has a population of approximately 148,500 residents. The 11 member councils include:
  •  Albury City Council;
  •  Berrigan Shire Council;
  •  Carrathool Shire Council;
  •  Edward River Council
  •  Federation Council;
  •  Griffith City Council;
  •  Hay Shire Council;
  •  Leeton Shire Council;
  •  Murray River Council;
  •  Murrumbidgee Council; and
  •  Narrandera Shire Council.

The principal functions of the RAMJO are to:
1. Establish strategic regional priorities for the joint organisation area and to establish strategies and plans for delivering these priorities;
2. Provide regional leadership for the joint organisation area and to be an advocate for the strategic regional priorities; and
3. Identify and take up opportunities for inter-governmental cooperation on matters relating to the joint organisation area.

The RAMJO may perform other functions, supplementary or ancillary to its principal functions, if the objective of undertaking those functions is to provide support for the operations of the member councils aimed at strengthening local government in the joint organisation area, for example delivery of a service to member councils, delivery of a service to the community, sharing of a resource or resources, or enhancing the capacity of members.